Originally published November 29, 2013 at 01:15p.m., updated November 29, 2013 at 01:31p.m.

Field announced for 2014 Old Spice Classic

KU to be joined by Michigan State, six other teams in Florida event


The eight-team field for the 2014 Old Spice Classic was announced on Friday. Kansas University's basketball team will be joined by Michigan State, Georgia Tech, Marquette, Rider, Tennessee, Santa Clara and Xavier.

The ninth-annual event will be held Thanksgiving weekend, Thursday, Friday and Sunday, Nov. 27, 28 and 30, at the HP Field House at ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex near Orlando, Fla.

The 2014 Old Spice Classic, a bracket-format tournament, will feature 12 games over the three days. Each team will compete in one game per day, advancing through a bracket-tournament format. The two teams that remain undefeated throughout will face off in a championship match Sunday, Nov. 30.

Gonzaga captured the 2012 Old Spice Classic title, its second tournament championship (also 2008). Previous winners were Dayton (2011), Notre Dame (2010), Florida State (2009), North Carolina State (2007) and Arkansas (2006).

For more information, including travel packages, visit the Old Spice Classic web site at


Aaron Paisley 4 years, 6 months ago

I always love having a potential game against Sparty early on in a season because they toughen up any team that plays against them. I don't think the 2008-09 team wins the Big 12 without that Michigan St. game even though KU lost that game.

Rob Bedford III 4 years, 6 months ago

Great news. I can see KU next month in Gainesville and next year in Orlando.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.