Kenny Logan Jr. KU football's lone representative on AP All-Big 12 teams

Kansas safety Kenny Logan Jr. (1) celebrates after making a fourth down stop against Oklahoma State in the first quarter, on Oct. 30, 2021.

Kansas safety Kenny Logan Jr. (1) celebrates after making a fourth down stop against Oklahoma State in the first quarter, on Oct. 30, 2021.

Thursday, December 9, 2021

Just one Kansas football player — Kenny Logan Jr. — made the Associated Press All-Big 12 team this year.

The conference’s leading tackler, Logan, a junior safety, was a second-team selection when the AP announced its postseason honors for the league on Thursday.

The Jayhawk defender who most often came through with the stop his team needed, Logan totaled 113 tackles, leading the conference, as well as all defensive backs nationally.

A 6-foot, 205-pound junior from St. Augustine, Fla., Logan led the Big 12 in total tackles, tackles per game and solo tackles per game (6.6). Entering college football’s postseason, Logan’s 79 solo tackles currently rank third among all FBS players.

The final three weeks of the season helped Logan’s numbers reach new heights. He made 11 tackles at Texas, 15 at TCU and 14 against West Virginia to close the season.

KU head coach Lance Leipold said on a late November episode of “Hawk Talk” that Logan began playing faster and being more reactive late in the season.

“Kenny’s had a heck of a year. He continues to play at a high level,” Leipold said. “(Logan’s) a guy who’s been on the field for a lot of snaps and, you know, his Mondays and Tuesdays sometimes are limited a little bit based on how the body’s feeling. And he keeps fighting through it.

Earlier this month, the Big 12’s coaches voted both Logan and KU super-senior defensive end Kyron Johnson onto their All-Big 12 second team.

The 2021 AP All-Big 12 team was voted on by a panel of 20 sports media members who cover the league.


("u-" denotes unanimous selection)


QB — Brock Purdy, Iowa State, 6-1, 220, Sr., Gilbert, Arizona.

RB — Breece Hall, Iowa State, 6-1, 220, Jr., Wichita, Kansas.

RB — Bijan Robinson, Texas, 6-0, 214, So., Tucson, Arizona.

T — Cooper Beebe, Kansas State, 6-3, 320, So., Kansas City, Kansas.

T — Connor Galvin, Baylor, 6-7, 310, Sr., Katy, Texas.

G — Josh Sills, Oklahoma State, 6-6, 325, Sr., Sarahville, Ohio.

G — Trevor Downing, Iowa State, 6-4, 310, Jr., Creston, Iowa.

C — Steve Avila, TCU, 6-4, 334, Jr., Arlington, Texas.

TE — u-Charlie Kolar, Iowa State, 6-6, 260, Sr., Norman, Oklahoma.

WR — Xavier Worthy, Texas, 6-1, 160, Fr., Fresno, California.

WR — Xavier Hutchinson, Iowa State, 6-3, 230, Sr., Jacksonville, Florida.

All-Purpose — Trestan Ebner, Baylor, 5-11, 215., Sr., Henderson, Texas.

K — Jonathan Garibay, Texas Tech, 6-1, 215, Sr., Rubidoux, California.


DE — Felix Anudike-Uzomah, Kansas State., 6-3, 255, So., Kansas City, Missouri.

DE —Will McDonald IV, Iowa State, 6-4, 245, Jr., Pewaukee, Wisconsin.

DT — Siaki Ika, Baylor, 6-4, 350, So., Salt Lake City, Utah.

DT — Dante Stills, West Virginia, 6-4, 280, Sr., Fairmont, West Virginia.

LB — Terrel Bernard, Baylor, 6-1, 222, Sr., La Porte, Texas.

LB — Malcolm Rodriguez, Oklahoma State, 5-11, 225, Sr., Wagoner, Oklahoma.

LB— Mike Rose, Iowa State, 6-4, 250, Sr., Brecksville, Ohio.

CB — Jarrick Bernard-Converse, Oklahoma State, 6-1, 200, Sr., Shreveport, Louisiana.

CB — Tre'Vius Hodges-Tomlinson, TCU, 5-9, 177, Jr., Waco, Texas.

S — Kolby Harvell-Peel, Oklahoma State., 6-0, 207, Sr., College Station, Texas.

S — Jalen Pitre, Baylor, 6-0, 197, Sr., Stafford, Texas.

P — Michael Turk, Oklahoma, 6-0, 230, Sr., Dallas.



QB — Caleb Williams, Oklahoma, 6-1, 218, Fr., Washington D.C.

RB — Abram Smith, Baylor, 5-11, 221, Sr., Abilene, Texas.

RB — Deuce Vaughn, Kansas State, 5-6, 173, So., Round Rock, Texas.

T — Derek Kerstetter, Texas, 6-5, 310, Sr., San Antonio.

T — Tyrese Robinson, Oklahoma, 6-3, 324, Sr., McKinney, Texas.

G — Marquis Hayes, Oklahoma, 6-5, 325, Sr., St. Louis.

G — Chris Murray, Oklahoma 6-1, 301, Sr., Palmdale, California.

C — Jacob Gall, Baylor, 6-2, 305, Sr., Cincinnati.

TE — Jeremiah Hall, Oklahoma, 6-2, 248, Sr., Charlotte, North Carolina.

WR — Tay Martin, Oklahoma State, 6-3, 186, Sr., Houma, Louisiana.

WR — Tyquan Thornton, Baylor, 6-3, 182, Sr., Miami.

All-Purpose — Malik Knowles, Kansas State 6-3, 195, Mansfield, Texas.

K — Gabe Brkic, Oklahoma, 6-3, 201, Jr., Chardon, Ohio.


DE — Brock Martin, Oklahoma State, 6-3, 250, Sr., Oologah, Oklahoma.

DE — Collin Oliver, Oklahoma State, 6-2, 225, Fr., Oklahoma City.

DT — Eyioma Uwazurike, Iowa State, 6-6, 320, Sr., Detroit.

DT — Perrion Winfrey, Oklahoma., 6-4, 292, Sr., Maywood, Illinois.

LB — Brian Asamoah, Oklahoma, 6-1, 228, Jr., Columbus, Ohio.

LB — Nik Bonitto, Oklahoma, 6-3, 240, Jr., Fort Lauderdale, Florida.

LB — Colin Schooler, Texas Tech, 6-2, 230, Sr., Dana Point, California.

CB — DaMarcus Fields, Texas Tech, 6-0, 200, Sr., Taylor, Texas.

CB — Christian Holmes, Oklahoma State, 6-1, 205, Sr., Leland, Mississippi.

S — Kenny Logan, Jr., Kansas, 6-0, 205, Jr., St. Augustine, Florida.

S — Russ Yeast, Kansas State, 5-10, 195, Sr., Danville, Kentucky.

P — Austin McNamara, Texas Tech, 6-4, 195, Jr., Gilbert, Arizona.

Coach of the year — Dave Aranda, Baylor.

Offensive player of the year — Breece Hall, RB, Iowa State.

Defensive player of the year — Jalen Pitre, S, Baylor.

Newcomer of the year — Xavier Worthy, WR, Texas.