Monday, April 27, 2020

10 KU golfers earn first-team academic All-Big 12 honors


Ten University of Kansas golfers have been named to the 2019-20 men’s and women’s academic All-Big 12 squads, the school announced Monday.

Five KU women and five KU men made their respective first-team squads, with the Jayhawks accounting for more than 14% of this season’s first-team selections.

In all, 86 golfers across the conference were honored for their academic performances.

“I’m very proud of all five of our ladies who earned a spot on the academic All-Big 12 first team,” women’s coach Erin O’Neil said in a release. “They work very diligently throughout the year. We appreciate each of them for being such wonderful representatives of our team and the University of Kansas.”

The five KU women who earned the honor were: junior Aristelle Acuff (majoring in business), senior Annika Cedo (strategic communications), sophomore Abby Glynn (molecular biology), sophomore Lauren Heinlein (molecular biology) and senior Xinyun Yu (math/computer engineering).

The five KU men named to the first team were: senior Andy Spencer (business finance), junior Ben Sigel (sports management), junior Drew Shepherd (finance), redshirt sophomore Jeff Doty (sports management) and redshirt freshman Grant Herrenbruck (finance).

This marks the sixth consecutive year in which the men’s golf team had at least four student-athletes named to the academic All-Big 12 squad.

“Great award and recognition for the five guys,” men’s coach Jamie Bermel said in a release. “All of them work extremely hard in the classroom and on the golf course.”

To earn first-team honors, student-athletes have to maintain a GPA of 3.2 or better, while second-team honorees are required to hold a GPA between 3.0 and 3.19.

Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.