Tuesday, November 5, 2019

KU soccer’s Addisyn Merrick named Big 12 Defensive Player of Year

Defender Addisyn Merrick chases a ball past Texas' Katie Glenn at the Big 12 Soccer Championships in Swope Soccer Village on Sunday, October 28.

Defender Addisyn Merrick chases a ball past Texas' Katie Glenn at the Big 12 Soccer Championships in Swope Soccer Village on Sunday, October 28.


One of three Jayhawks to be named to the All-Big 12 teams on Tuesday, Kansas soccer senior Addisyn Merrick was named the Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year.

Merrick made the All-Big 12 first team, where she was joined by senior forward Katie McClure, a unanimous selection.

KU junior midfielder Ceri Holland made it on the All-Big 12 second team.

Merrick, from Lee’s Summit, Mo., became the second Jayhawk in program history to be named the league’s defensive player of the year, joining Kayla Morrison who received the honor in 2017.

With her pick to the first team, Merrick also claimed all-league honors for the second time. Merrick also was named to the All-Freshman team three years ago.

The senior defender started all 19 games in this season for KU, which has eight shutouts and has allowed 17 goals this season to date.

McClure, of Wichita, landed on a Big 12 postseason team for the third time in four seasons (second team in 2018, All-Freshman Team in 2016). McClure was one of four unanimous first team selections. She ranks second in the Big 12 this year in goals (14), points (35) and shots (88), and is tied for the league lead in game-winning goals (6). McClure’s seven assists in 2019 rank fifth in the Big 12.

Holland earned conference postseason honors for the second time after earning All-Freshman honors two seasons ago. The midfielder from West Yorkshire, England, has scored eight goals and added four assists to go along with 55 shots this season, all career highs.

2019 All-Big 12 Soccer Awards

Offensive Player of the Year: Kirsten Davis, Texas Tech

Defensive Player of the Year: Addisyn Merrick, Kansas

Freshman of the Year: Madison White, Texas Tech

Coach of the Year: Colin Carmichael, Oklahoma State 

All-Big 12 First Team

GK - Madison White, Texas Tech, Fr.

D - Kim Rodriguez, Oklahoma State, Jr.

D - Addisyn Merrick, Kansas, Sr.

D - Cassie Hiatt, Texas Tech, So.

MF - Kaylee Dao, Oklahoma, Sr.

MF - Julia Grosso, Texas, So.

MF - Yazmeen Ryan, TCU, Jr.

MF - Grace Yochum, Oklahoma State, So.

F - Kirsten Davis, Texas Tech, Jr.

F - Katie McClure, Kansas, Sr.

F - Messiah Bright, TCU, So.

U - Jordie Harr, Texas Tech, Jr.

All-Big 12 Second Team

GK - Rylee Foster, West Virginia, Sr.

D - Charmé Morgan, Oklahoma State, Jr.

D - Emma Regan, Texas, So.

D - Jordan Brewster, West Virginia, So.

MF - Ceri Holland, Kansas, Jr.

MF - Jaci Jones, Oklahoma State, Sr.

MF - Haley Berg, Texas, Jr.

F - Raegan Padgett, Baylor, Sr.

F - Cyera Hintzen, Texas, Sr.

F - Olyvia Dowell, Oklahoma State, Fr.

U - Brookelynn Entz, Kansas State, Jr.

Big 12 All-Freshman Team

F - Elizabeth Kooiman, Baylor

D - Maya McCutcheon, Oklahoma

F - Olyvia Dowell, Oklahoma State

MF - Gracie Brian, TCU

F - Grace Collins, TCU

F - Sydney Nobles, Texas

D - Hannah Anderson, Texas Tech

F - Macy Schultz, Texas Tech

GK - Madison White, Texas Tech

D - Nicole Payne, West Virginia

F - Enzi Broussard, West Virginia

Unanimous selection


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.