Friday, May 20, 2016

Kansas track qualifies 32 for NCAAs


The Kansas University track and field program learned Thursday afternoon that 32 entries between the men’s and women’s teams have been accepted into the preliminary round of the 2016 NCAA Div. I Outdoor Track and Field Championships being held May 26-28 at Rock Chalk Park.

KU will host the NCAA Championship West Preliminary for the first time since the current qualifying format began in 2010.

The other half of the nation will compete in Jacksonville, Fla. for the NCAA East Preliminary, hosted by North Florida.

The No. 25-ranked KU men feature 16 individuals and a relay team, earning 17 entries into the meet, while the Jayhawk women boast 11 individuals and two relays, earning 15 entries into the NCAA West Preliminary.

The KU men are Barden Adams, triple jump; Hussain Al Hizam, pole vault; Jake Albright, pole vault; Paulo Benavides, pole vault; Ben Burchstead, steeplechase; Nicolai Ceban, discus; and Mitchell Cooper, discus;

Ivan Henry, 400 meters; Dylan Hodgson, steeplechase; Evan Landes, 10,000 meters; Strymar Livingston, 800 meters; Greg Lupton, pole vault; Nick Maestretti, pole vault;

Drew Matthews, 400 meters; Nick Meyer, pole vault; Alex Wilson, 400 meter hurdles; and the 4x400 meter relay team of Henry, Jaron Hartley, Tre Daniels and Livingston.

Jayhawk women qualifers are Whitney Adams, 800 meters; Courtney Coppinger, steeplechase; Daina Levy, discus and hammer throw; Sharon Lokedi, 10,000 meters; Kelly McKee, triple jump; Kelli McKenna, steeplechase and Adriana Newell, 400 meters;

Zainab Sanni, 100 meters and 200 meters; Shaylyn Stallbaumer, javelin; Laura Taylor, pole vault; and Dasha Tsema, discus.

Two Kansas relay teams will compete: Tianna Valentine, Nicole Montgomery, Sanni and Newell in the 4x100 meters and Adams, Montgomery, Sanni and Newell in the 4x400 meters.

NCAA West Preliminary

Kansas University Qualifiers

MEN (17 Entries)

Athlete, Event, Time/Mark (Regional Seed)

Barden Adams, Triple Jump, 15.36m (30)

Hussain Al Hizam, Pole Vault, 5.26m (21)

Jake Albright, Pole Vault, 5.50m (4)

Paulo Benavides, Pole Vault, 5.20m (33)

Ben Burchstead, Steeplechase, 8:50.04 (25)

Nicolai Ceban, Discus, 58.17m (8)

Mitchell Cooper, Discus, 62.56m (1)

Ivan Henry, 400m, 46.59 (22)

Dylan Hodgson, Steeplechase, 8:50.04 (21)

Evan Landes, 10,000m, 28:58.43 (6)

Strymar Livingston, 800m, 1:48.42 (18)

Greg Lupton, Pole Vault, 5.26m (21)

Nick Maestretti, Pole Vault, 5.35m (11)

Drew Matthews, 400m, 47.18 (47)

Nick Meyer, Pole Vault, 5.50m (4)

Alex Wilson, 400m Hurdles, 52.29 (45)


Henry, Hartley, Daniels, Livingston; 4x400m, 3:05.73 (9)

WOMEN (15 Entries)

Athlete, Event, Time/Mark (Regional Seed)

Whitney Adams, 800m, 2:05.43 (13)

Courtney Coppinger, Steeplechase, 10:31.01 (48)

Daina Levy, Discus, 52.95m (24)

Daina Levy, Hammer Throw, 68.35m (2)

Sharon Lokedi, 10,000m, 33:10.06 (5)

Kelly McKee, Triple Jump, 12.48m (44)

Kelli McKenna, Steeplechase, 10:23.28 (31)

Adriana Newell, 400m, 53.76 (25)

Zainab Sanni, 100m, 11.36 (16)

Zainab Sanni, 200m, 23.33 (22)

Shaylyn Stallbaumer, Javelin, 51.02m (12)

Laura Taylor, Pole Vault, 4.06m (37)

Dasha Tsema, Discus, 54.47m (12)


Valentine, Montgomery, Sanni, Newell; 4x100m, 44.97 (20)

Adams, Montgomery, Sanni, Newell; 4x400m, 3:36.80 (16)


Commenting has been disabled for this item.