Sunday, April 5, 2015

Jayhawks row to one victory


— Kansas University’s Second Varsity Eight boat won its race at a weather-plagued regatta Saturday at Southern Methodist University.

KU’s winning boat — with coxswain Kenzie Obrochta, plus Jennifer Hartzler, Lexie Lanphere, Alexa Fowlkes, BriAnna Dittberner, Kaelyn Thierolf, Margret Winter, Jordan Helms and Katherine Young — finished in 8:09.64. SMU was second in 8:17.36.

KU’s First Varsity Eight boat — coxswain Mary Slattery and Maggie Duncan, Brooke Thuston, Claudijah Lever, Oliva Loney, Tessa Scott, Allison Schaaf, Julia Alvey and Maddie Irelan — placed second in a dual with SMU in 7:44.4.

Kansas’ Third Varsity Eight boat — coxwain Briana Pina, Caitlin McNulty, Erin Brogan, Jackie Adamle, Emily Ruble, Margaret Hornick, Ally Fullerton, Kristen Byrd and Bailey Brandon — placed third in 7:55.5 in a three-team race that also included Texas.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.