Back to gallery

NCAA Tournament 2017: 28 in a row and counting...

Photo detail

2012-13 — With seniors Elijah Johnson (9.9 ppg) and Jeff Withey (13.7 ppg) stepping into the roles vacated by Tyshawn Taylor and Thomas Robinson, Kansas earned a No. 1 seed behind the strong play of future lottery pick Ben McLemore, who sat out the 2012 run and averaged 15.9 points during his first season on the floor. The Jayhawks, for the third time since he left, faced former KU coach Roy Williams in the tournament — this time in the second round in Kansas City, Mo. — and Bill Self improved to 3-0 at Kansas against his predecessor. That put Kansas into the Sweet 16, where the top-seeded Jayhawks played great for 35 minutes but collapsed late against No. 4 seed Michigan and lost in overtime. KU finished the season 31-6 and would enter the following season looking to replace five starters once again.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.