Friday, May 8, 2020

KU track and field lands 46 athletes on academic all-Big 12 teams


Forty-six members of the Kansas men’s and women’s track and field teams landed on the 2020 academic All-Big 12 teams, the Big 12 Conference announced this week.

Ben Butler, Lisa Lauschke and Andrea Willis each recorded a 4.0 GPA, leading the charge for the 38 Jayhawks named to the first team.

In all, 384 student-athletes — 152 men and 232 women — across the Big 12 earned academic All-Big 12 honors.

To earn first-team honors, student-athletes have to maintain a GPA of 3.2 or better, while second-team honorees are required to hold a GPA between 3.0 and 3.19.

Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence.

Here’s a list of the rest of KU’s honorees and their majors:

Men’s First Team: Hussain Al Hizam, finance; Zach Bradford, sport management; Ben Butler, global & international studies and Spanish; Ryan Butler, journalism and mathematics; Chase Dornbusch, pre-business; Colin Dwyer, architecture; Braden Juenemann, civil engineering; George Letner, biology and psychology; John Luder, human biology; Konrad Marshall, mechanical engineering; Michael Melgares, marketing; Marcus Quere, finance; Jake Ralston, management and leadership; and Kyle Rogers, mechanical engineering.

Men’s Second Team: Quanah Gardiner, secondary education; Mitch Grosserode, finance; Ivan Henry, finance; Javan Reece, communication studies; and Jack Young, architecture.

Women’s First Team: Chloe Akin-Otiko, human biology; Rylee Anderson, exercise science; Alexys Barton, mechanical engineering; Rachel Clowers, English and women & gender studies; Riley Cooney, law; Adia Eberle, journalism; Toni Englund, architectural engineering; Honour Finley, exercise science; Cameron Gueldner, exercise science; Saudia Heard, pre-business; Avryl Johnson, industrial design; Mariah Kuykendoll, sport management; Erika Landes, exercise science; Lisa Lauschke, educational administration MSE; Catherine Liggett, human biology and anthropology; Morganne Mukes, information systems; Ally Ryan, mathematics and pre-business analytics; Sarah Scott, computer science and mathematics; Jana Shawver, psychology; Anna Siemens, management & leadership and Spanish; Bailee Swift, physical education plus; Allie Twietmeyer, accounting; Samantha Van Hoecke, biology; and Andrea Willis, exercise science.

Women’s Second Team: Julianna Castillo, journalism; Alexandra Emilianov, information systems; and Cameryn Thomas, global international studies.


Commenting has been disabled for this item.