Friday, May 23, 2014

KU track lands 41 prelim entries


Kansas University learned Thursday that 41 entries had been accepted into the preliminary round of the NCAA Div. I Outdoor Track & Field Championships, which will be held May 29-31 in Fayetteville, Arkansas.

The No. 13-ranked KU women qualified 18 athletes and a relay, earning 23 entries into the meet, while the Jayhawk men boast 15 athletes and two relays earning 18 entries into the NCAA West Preliminary Rounds.

The NCAA Selection Committee accepted the top 48 performers in each individual event and the top 24 relay teams in both relays to compete at each site hosting the NCAA Preliminary Rounds for a total of 96 individuals and 48 relays competing nationwide.

At the NCAA Preliminary Rounds, the top 12 finishers in each open and relay event will qualify for the national semifinal and final rounds of the NCAA Div. I Outdoor Track & Field Championships scheduled to run June 11-14 at Hayward Field in Eugene, Oregon.

KU’s accepted athletes: Whitney Adams, 800; Natalie Becker, 5,000; Sydney Conley, long jump; Diamond Dixon, 400; Jaimie House, pole vault; Kourtney Keller, 400 hurdles; Alisha Keys, 200; Rhavean King, 800; Daina Levy, discus and hammer throw; Jessica Maroszek, shot put and discus; Anastasiya Muchkayev, shot put and discus; Colleen O’Brien, high jump; Hannah Richardson, 1,500; Zainab Sanni, 100; Dasha Tsema, discus; Tianna Valentine, 100; Lindsay Vollmer, 100 hurdles and heptathlon (heptathletes advance straight to the final rounds of the NCAA Championships); Kianna Weinzheimer, javelin; and the 4X100 relay team of Keys, Dixon, Valentine and Conley.

Kansas’ men’s qualifers: Alex Bishop, pole vault; Casey Bowen, pole vault; Reid Buchanan, 5,000; Mitchell Cooper, discus; Austin Hoag, high jump; DeMario Johnson, 100; Greg Lupton, pole vault; Nick Maestretti, pole vault; Drew Matthews, 400; Nick Meyer, pole vault; Richard Smith, triple jump; Shawn Smith, 100 and 200; Brendan Soucie, 800; Michael Stigler, 400 hurdles; Johann Swanepoel, javelin; the 4X100 relay team of Smith, Wilson, Stigler and Johnson; and the 4X400 relay team of Matthews, Johnson, Wilson and Stigler.


Commenting has been disabled for this item.