Advertisement

Advertisement

Friday, July 8, 2011

KU football player enters into diversion agreement on DUI charge

Advertisement

A Kansas University football player who faced a drunken driving charge in Lawrence Municipal Court turned in a diversion agreement Friday morning, according to the city prosecutor’s office.

Chris Omigie, 20, a wide receiver who will be a sophomore this fall, faced the DUI charge after he was arrested in a traffic stop 2:30 a.m. Feb. 5 near 21st Street and Naismith Drive on suspicion of operating a vehicle under the influence of alcohol.

City Prosecutor Jerry Little had not yet signed Omigie’s diversion agreement, so it likely wouldn’t take effect until next week, according to Little’s office. Athletics officials said in February any discipline would be handled internally by Coach Turner Gill. Omigie, originally from Arlington, Texas, is still a member of the team.

To be eligible for diversion in a DUI case, it must be a defendant’s first offense and not involve an injury accident. A defendant also must obtain an alcohol evaluation. A standard diversion on a DUI lasts 12 months with a minimum $802 fee, but other terms can be included.

A driver under the age of 21 faces driver’s license restrictions if his or her blood-alcohol content was at least 0.02 percent.

Comments

holtz1951 3 years ago

Also loses license for one year, has to have a Ignition Interlock device (75 dollars to install it and pay 75 a month for twelve months ) put on car, only you wait 45 days after the date the license has been suspended. before you can drive to work (to pay for all of this) , lawyer fee 1500 dollars to start, the alcohol evaluation cost 150 dollars, diversion, 1000 dollars and up.The DUI is for a lifetime on your record. I am wondering what the former president of the local chapter of Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) in Gaines ville,Florida is thinking? Here's one MADD unfortunate case of do as I say, not as I do, maybe.

0

Nutflush21 3 years ago

The ignition interlock law did not go into effect until July 1. Omigie's stop was on Feb. 5 so it does not apply.

The status of his license is subject to a hearing with the state and has nothing to do with municipal court.

If you get a lawyer for your first DUI, you are a chump because your going to get diversion lawyer or not.

0

holtz1951 3 years ago

yes it does, my son was stopped in feb. he gets his lock on in 20 days, read the law. i know it has nothing to do with municipal court, my son has already had his hearing with the state..

0

squawkhawk 3 years ago

Gill is working miracles with his FB players.

0

gchawk 3 years ago

Some comments are just too brilliant for a response.................................

0

onlylookin2score 3 years ago

lol.. So brilliant you have to look away.

0

Commenting has been disabled for this item.