Sunday, May 3, 2009

KU swimming hands out annual awards


Senior Maria Mayrovich earned the Tammy Thomas MVP award, sophomore Joy Bunting nabbed the Karen Dionne (most inspirational) award, sophomore Iuliia Kuzhil was named Newcomer of the Year, and senior Jes Brozek was the Academic award winner at the Kansas University swimming and diving team’s award banquet Saturday at the Burge Union.

Mayrovich is the school-record holder in the 200-yard freestyle and qualified for the NCAA Championships in College Station, Texas.

Bunting is a repeat winner of the Dionne award.

Kuzhil qualified for the NCAA Championship and is the school record holder in the 100- and 200-yard backstroke events.

And Brozek was named to the Academic All-Big 12 First Team with a 4.0 GPA for the third straight year.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.