Friday, July 31, 2009

Jayhawks’ McCray on Wade Watch list

Kansas University women's basketball standout Danielle McCray received some big-time recognition Thursday.


Kansas University’s Danielle McCray was one of 25 women named to the Women's Basketball Coaches Association’s "Wade Watch" list for The State Farm Wade Trophy Div. I Player of the Year.

The list is made up of top NCAA Div. I student-athletes who best embody the spirit of Lily Margaret Wade according to the following criteria: game and season statistics, leadership, character, effect on their team and overall playing ability.

This year's list has 20 institutions and 10 conferences represented. Connecticut and Stanford each have three student-athletes on the list — Tina Charles, Tiffany Hayes and Maya Moore from the Huskies, and Jayne Appel, Kayla Pederson and Jeannette Pohlen from the Cardinal.

The ACC, BIG EAST, Big Ten and Pac-10 each have four student-athletes on the list, followed by the Big 12 (3), SEC (2), Atlantic-10 (1), Mountain West (1), Sun Belt (1) and West Coast (1).

Former Kansas great Lynette Woodard was the 1981 Wade Trophy winner, the only Jayhawk to capture the honor in its 32-year history. Woodard was the fourth overall winner of the award and took home the honor after averaging 24.5 points and 9.6 rebounds per game during her senior campaign.


kucourtsider 10 years, 5 months ago

Wow. Way to go Danielle. Show em what you are made of this season girl!

Commenting has been disabled for this item.