Thursday, February 5, 2009

KU’s Collins named Cousy Award finalist

KU junior Sherron Collins was named a finalist for the 2009 Bob Cousy Award.


Kansas junior guard Sherron Collins has been chosen as one of 17 finalists for the Bob Cousy Award, which is presented annually to the nation's top point guard. Collins was the only Big 12 point guard selected as a finalist.

The 17 finalists were chosen from a pool of more than 60 candidates in Divisions I, II and III. The last Jayhawk to be chosen as a finalist was Russell Robinson in 2006-07.

Beginning today, fans can vote for their favorite finalist online at The player with the most votes will receive the "fan vote." Other voters in the Blue Ribbon committee include Bob Cousy, Jim Calhoun, Dean Smith and other coaches from all divisions, along with members of the media and additional college basketball experts and celebrities.

The winner of the Cousy Award will be honored April 6 in Detroit at the Final Four.


Sherron Collins, Kansas

Darren Collison, UCLA

Stephen Curry, Davidson College

Toney Douglas, Florida State University

Levance Fields, University of Pittsburgh

Jonny Flynn, Syracuse University

Dominic James, Marquette University

Ty Lawson, University of North Carolina

Eric Maynor, Virginia Commonwealth University

Patrick Mills, St. Mary’s College

Jeremy Pargo, Gonzaga University

AJ Price, University of Connecticut

Jeff Teague, Wake Forest University


Virgil Buensuceso, BYU – Hawaii

Darren Duncan, Merrimack College


David Arseneault, Grinnell College

Sean Wallis, Washington University


Jaminrawk 9 years, 2 months ago

Yet somehow UNC center Tyler Hansbrough will win because he's the greatest player ever and his immense talent transcends position ...

KUbsee69 9 years, 2 months ago

Hmmm ... Dean Smith gets a vote. Gee, I wonder who he'll vote for. I think Bill Self should also get a vote to even things up.

jchawkfan 9 years, 2 months ago

LOL!!! Thats funny stuff Jaminrawk. You are right on.

John Sheehan 9 years, 2 months ago

The Cousy is for best "Point Guard", so Hansborough can't win, but I get the gist. Tyler has been exposed for the fraud he is this all started when Cole outplayed him last April. I went to the link and voted for Sheron...I think he is the most valuable point guard (to his particular team), not sure he's the best...but he's our guy so congrats on being a finalist and good luck to Sheron!

Tony Bandle 9 years, 2 months ago

Gee only two from the'd think each team would get to put one on the list, at least according to ESPN!!I find the inclusion of Division II and Division III guards incredible.....not for the actual inclusion but for the fact that the committee fair enough to even recognize players from those divisions. Mr. Cousy must be a pretty fair guy.Great comment, Jaminrawk...hilarious. Tyler will qualify for the " Best Most Over-rated Player Award"

Kenneth Johnson 9 years, 2 months ago

The least they could have done was spell his first name right.I also saw a couple of days ago where some sports outfit called him Sherrod.Ken

Jaminrawk 9 years, 2 months ago

I think it's probably gonna come down to Jeff Teague (mainly because he is the best ACC guard right now) and Stephen Curry (because Vitale, Phelps and Co. would all buy his bathwater if it were available for purchase). Gotta give props to Collins. He really has a huge responsibility with this young team and has played a whole lot of minutes this year.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.