Tuesday, August 18, 2009

Dugan Arnett’s KU football notebook


Kansas University quarterback Todd Reesing, already a member of four national award watch lists, was named to another Monday when he joined 37 other college signal-callers up for the Manning Award.

The Manning Award, which counts USC’s Matt Leinhart, Texas’ Vince Young and LSU’s JaMarcus Russell among its past winners, is given to the nation’s top quarterback and is the only such award that takes bowl performance into consideration when determining its winner.

Reesing, a senior from Austin, Texas, has been named to watch lists for the O’Brien Award (given to the nation’s top quarterback) and Unitas Award (top senior quarterback), as well as the Maxwell Award, which is given to the most outstanding college football player, and Walter Camp Award.

Other Big 12 players named to the Manning Award watch list are Oklahoma’s Sam Bradford, Texas’ Colt McCoy, Oklahoma State’s Zac Robinson and Baylor’s Robert Griffin III.

Dates to remember

The Kansas football team will be holding its annual Fan Appreciation Day on Aug. 26 at Memorial Stadium. Gates are scheduled to open at 5:30 p.m., with players available for autographs afterward.

In addition, coach Mark Mangino will attend the KU kickoff rally at Corinth Square (83rd and Mission Road) in Prairie Village at 6:30 p.m. Friday.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.