Reesing earns Manning Award watch list nod

Monday, August 17, 2009

Kansas University quarterback Todd Reesing, already a member of four national award watch lists, was named to another Monday when the Manning Award made him one of the 38 college signal-callers vying for the honor.

The Manning Award, which counts USC's Matt Leinhart, Texas' Vince Young and LSU's JaMarcus Russell among its past winners, is given to the nation's top quarterback and is the only such award that takes bowl performance into consideration when determining its winner.

Reesing, a senior from Austin, Texas, has been previously named to watch lists for the O’Brien Award (given to the nation's top quarterback) and Unitas Award (top senior quarterback), as well as the Maxwell Award, which is given to the most outstanding college football player, and Walter Camp Award.

Other Big 12 players named to the Manning Award watch list include Oklahoma's Sam Bradford, Texas' Colt McCoy, Oklahoma State's Zac Robinson and Baylor's Robert Griffin III.