Reesing, Briscoe named to Maxwell Award watch list

Friday, August 14, 2009

Senior quarterback Todd Reesing and junior receiver Dezmon Briscoe were both named Friday to the 55-member watch list for the Maxwell Award, given annually to college football's most outstanding player.

In his three seasons with the program, Reesing, also a candidate for the Walter Camp, Davey O’Brien and Johnny Unitas awards, has thrown for 7,578 yards and 68 touchdowns and led the Jayhawks to 20 victories during his two seasons as a starter.

Briscoe, who was also named to the Biletnikoff Award watch list, set school records a season ago for receiving yards (1,407) and touchdowns (15) and has been tabbed as a preseason all-Big 12 first-team selection by the media.

Kansas, coming off an 8-5 season in which it earned consecutive bowl victories for the first time in school history, kicks off the 2009 season Sept. 5 at home against North Colorado.