Sunday, May 25, 2008

Texas, K-State to play for conference title



Alonzo Adams/AP Photo

Texas players celebrate an 11-10 victory over Oklahoma in the Big 12 Conference baseball tournament on Saturday. Texas will play Kansas State in the championship game today in Oklahoma City.

— David Hernandez singled in the winning run to cap a three-run ninth inning as Texas stunned Oklahoma 11-10 on Saturday to advance to the Big 12 Conference baseball championship game.

The fifth-seeded Longhorns will face seventh-seeded Kansas State in the title game. The Wildcats emerged from their pool after beating Baylor 3-2 late Saturday.

Jordan Danks and Kyle Russell walked and Brandon Belt had an RBI single to start the Longhorns' rally. Russell scored on a two-out wild pitch to tie the game, and Hernandez followed with his single off Chase Anderson (5-4).

Oklahoma (34-24-1) charged back from a 6-1 deficit by scoring six runs in the seventh inning, highlighted by Jarod Freeman's bases-loaded triple.

Texas (36-20) regained the lead on Travis Tucker's RBI single in the eighth before the Sooners scored three runs on a fielder's choice, a hit batsman and a bases-loaded walk to go up 10-8.

Keith Shinaberry (2-1) struck out J.T. Wise with the bases loaded to end Oklahoma's ninth-inning push. Tucker and Belt each drove in three runs for Texas.

Kansas State 3, Baylor 2

Drew Biery and Byron Wiley each had an RBI single in the sixth inning as Kansas State (29-28) rallied to beat Baylor (32-26).

Biery's fourth-inning groundout off Baylor starter Kendal Volz (3-6) scored Nate Tenbrink and broke a scoreless tie, but the Bears went ahead 2-1 in the top of the sixth. Ben Booker doubled to right field and scored on a single by Shaver Hansen. Hansen later scored on a sacrifice fly by Dustin Dickerson.

Tenbrink and Justin Bloxom opened the bottom of the sixth with singles for Kansas State before Biery and Wiley delivered their run-scoring hits. Baylor left the bases loaded in the seventh inning.

Kansas State starter Justin Murray (2-2) allowed seven hits and two runs in six innings, while Daniel Edwards struck out three in 12â3 innings of relief for his 12th save.

Texas A&M; 6, Missouri 2

Big 12 player of the year Jose Duran hit a 3-run homer as Texas A&M; (43-16) snapped an eight-game losing streak and prevented Missouri (38-19) from advancing to the title game by beating the Tigers 6-2.

Kyle Colligan hit a solo home run in the third inning and Duran added a three-run shot to center in the fifth inning as the top-seeded Aggies built a 5-0 lead.

Greg Folgia and Steve Gray had solo home runs to provide the only scoring for Missouri.

Barret Loux (5-2) gave up four hits and walked three in 61â3 scoreless innings for the Aggies. Missouri starter Ian Berger (4-5) allowed five runs on four hits and two walks in six innings.

Oklahoma State 11, Nebraska 5

Neil Medchill tripled and homered and Dean Green added a two-run homer for Oklahoma State (42-16), which had its hopes of reaching the title game ended when Kansas State beat Baylor.

Green's homer came during a four-run third-inning outburst for the Cowboys, and Medchill opened the fourth inning with the triple as Oklahoma State extended its lead to 7-1. All those runs came off Nebraska starter Thad Weber (8-4).

Nebraska (40-14-1) pulled within 8-5 in the sixth inning, but the Cowboys answered with three runs in the ninth, with Thomas Belza and Donnie Webb contributing run-scoring singles.

Medchill is the fourth Oklahoma State player to hit at least 10 home runs this season.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.