Tuesday, August 19, 2008

Reesing lands on award watch list

A year ago this week, it was a two-man quarterback race for the KU football team. Todd Reesing vs. Kerry Meier. In the end, Reesing won the job and led the Jayhawks to a 12-1 season capped off with an Orange Bowl victory.


Kansas University quarterback Todd Reesing is one of 35 players named to the 2008 Walter Camp Player of the Year Watch List.

This preseason, Reesing already has been named to the Maxwell Award and Davey O'Brien Award Watch Lists. The Maxwell is given to the nation's top player, while the O'Brien honor is awarded to the country's top quarterback.

The recipient of the 2008 Walter Camp Player of the Year award, which is voted on by the 119 NCAA Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced on the ESPN/Home Depot College Football Awards Show in December.


Displayhawk 11 years, 6 months ago

The Davey O'Brien award is a joke! Todd Reesing was the leading vote-getter last year, and yet he didn't even make the finals! Instead the finalists were voted on by urinalists .......jounalists who think they know more about sports than everyone else. These same journalists that picked KU to finish fifth in the Big 12 North last year!

Rick Arnoldy 11 years, 6 months ago

Any award that allows fans to vote is a joke, especially ones where fans can vote multiple times. They're nothing more than popularity contests and a test of an alumni base to generate votes.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.