Thursday, May 11, 2006

Kansas track puts 26 on academic team


Kansas University placed 26 student-athletes on the Academic All-Big 12 Conference track and field teams, including Mark Gdowski and Dena Seibel, who boasted perfect 4.0 grade-point averages.

In addition to Seibel, the KU women's team had nine members named to the first team, including Connie Abbott, Tiffany Cherry, Abby Emsick, Janiece Gatson, Christine Lathrop, Laura Major, Lindsay McCracken, Melissa Moody and Denita Young. Ashley Brown represented KU on the second team.

The Kansas men's first team was represented by Eric Babb, Jonathan Edwards, Gdowski, Brandon Hodges, Chris Jones, Joshy Madathil, Cody Roberts, Cameron Schwehr, Erik Sloan, Aaron Thompson and Colby Wissel. Matt French, Paul Hefferon, Tim Kane and Adrian Ludwig were named to the second team.

Nominated by each institution's director of student-athlete support services and the media relations offices, the men's academic all-league track and field squad consisted of 82 first-team members combined with 26 on the second team, while the women had 107 first team recipients and 17 student-athletes on the second team. First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA, and the second team are those who have a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of his/her team's scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.